120528

TALLINN

Tallinn was delightful. It was a sunny day. It was a cool day. It was just the way I like it! We boarded a bus about 8 o’clock in the morning and were treated to a guide named Hilje–60-ish, experienced, as big as a minute, bad fake red hair, and who turned out to be the most fun ever. (See attached pic) The quips she directed at us had us in stitches the entire excursion. At least as long as I was with the group.

We were bussed from the ship to a park, after which we walked here and there, to cathedrals, churches, palaces, market places, souvenir shops (of course), restaurants, and the Old Town Squares. (See attached pics)

In Tallinn there is an Upper Old Town and a Lower Old Town. Tallinn has preserved its medieval Old City/Old Town feel. I felt very attached to the place as I walked around with my group, poking my head into shops and artisan studios.

Speaking of walking around with my tour group . . . I got lost in Tallinn. How could this happen to a grown woman who’s been getting around on her own for several decades. I can explain. When given free time to look around on our own I told Jim I wanted to return up the street/alley to the artisan studios we had passed a few minutes previously. Agreeing to return to our meeting place in a few minutes off I went.

I found the studios with no problems. After all, it was a straight shot from where I started. Why couldn’t it have been a straight shot on my return trip? I visited all the studio/shops on the street, about 5. Walked out the last door of a shop and started down the walkway back to our meeting place. Still had plenty of time to find my way and meet Jim and the group.

But it didn’t happen. I was so lost! To make a long story short, I finally had a joyful reunion with Jim, and we looked around for our group. However, the group was long gone onto the next stop. So Jim and I walked back to the ship. I saw many sights that were not on the itinerary. LOL. The good part is that we found each other! And the other good part s that we got LOTS of good excise in the form of walking. More than five miles!

When we met up with our group and tour guide later I swiftly apologized. She said that I shouldn’t worry about it. She said “You found us! That’s a good thing. And lot of people get lost in Tallinn.”

So at the end of this day, I hasten to say, touring Tallinn was a delight; then it was scary; then it was joyful; then a delight again. 🙂

20120602-001606.jpg

20120602-001721.jpg

20120602-001734.jpg

One response to “120528

  1. Sylvia, it’s OK. I got lost in Breherhaven, Germany. I even had the address with me of where I was staying. But no one I showed it too knew where that was! I eventually retraced my steps, but a 20 minutes wlak turned into 2 hours! Looks and sounds like you’re having fun!

Leave a comment